[PREMIERE] Janine And the Mixtape – “Hope There’s Someone”



In the last couple of weeks, Janine And The Mixtape has returned with a Little Mixtape Monday series that has the New Zealand, Brooklyn-based songstress’ soulful vocals gracing the blogosphere and speakers of MJF.

Today, MJF is proud to premiere the latest installment of Janine’s Little Mixtape series titled “Hope There’s Someone.” In her cover of Antony and the Johnsons original, Janine induces the soft-spoken lyrics into a silken bed of heartbreak and hope as she carefully strings sensuous pirouettes of production with her signature masterclass vocals that make it impossible not to fall at the foot of her bed, hanging on every word. It all makes for one elegant understatement of R&B-tinged heartsick pop fated to soundtrack late night wanderings through New York City.

Listen to “Hope There’s Someone” below and don’t miss the rest of Janine’s Little Mixtape Monday series including  “Hold Me” featuring Tunji Ige and Ghost Loft and “This Moment (Eckhart Tolle).”




Download: The Neighbourhood – #000000 & #FFFFFF

00 - The_Neighborhood_000000_ffffff-front-large


HAPPY BLACK (AND WHITE) FRIDAY. A couple of kids that were up to no good started making trouble in The Neighbourhood back in early 2012 when songs like “Sweater Weather” and “Female Robbery” first hit the internet. Since then, the band has been busy bringing their brand of black and white to the world with a string of EP’s and their 2013 debut album I Love You. featuring platinum hit “Sweater Weather.”

Today, The Neighbourhood unleashes their long awaited #000000 & #FFFFFF (color code for “black and white”) mixtape. Following the stark suit of previous releases “Lurk“, “Jealou$y” featuring Casey Veggies & 100s “Hate Machine” featuring Danny Brown,” The Neighbourhood travel further down that less-traveled road where pop and rap converge into a mixtape of ruthless rock filtered through a demented lens fated to fill you with a rare taste of immortality. This time, they get by with a little heap from their collaborative friends including Raury, G-EazyFrench Montana, YG and more.

From the moment they put the DIRTY back in POP on guttural opening track “*NSTYNCT” (LOL) to the genre-sparring, swanky horns of “Jealou$y” that will have you naked by the end of the song to the sweetness of G-Eazy’s voice on “When I Get Back” to hypnotic mood of “Unfair” to the merciless hook of “Silver” that catapults you deep into an all-consuming starless scope of space where black and white reign supreme. Laced with sex, fame and heartbreak, #000000 & #FFFFFF plays out like a bunch of friends injecting their smoked out highs and lows into an intoxicating stream of consciousness that burns with a vengeance. Also shout out to that rain interlude because they already know this is the stuff perfect nap playlists are made of.

Listen to #000000 & #FFFFFF below and download/devour the entire mixtape for free at DATPIFF because The Neighbourhood back.

Don’t miss: “Jealou$y,” “#icanteven” “Silver”

00 - The_Neighborhood_000000_ffffff-back-large

Mixtape: OG Swaggerdick – “Game Boy Colored”


Trying to pitch a mixtape to someone is so futile. Either you’re going to listen to it or you’re not and nothing I say will convince you to do otherwise. There’s nothing my weird brain can construct and form into written words that will make a person be like, “You know what? He seems trustworthy.” It’s all wack.

You know what isn’t wack? Rap music. Rap music is dope. You know what else is dope? Having fun while listening to rap music. So, if you want to have fun while listening to rap music, listen to Game Boy ColoredOG Swaggerdick is dope. Here are some reviews of the mixtape:

“Game Boy Colored is just a tape for side niggas executive produced by Nick Van-Exel that happened to get an O-Zone award” – OG Swaggerdick

“This is the most offensive thing I have ever heard. I regret being a part of it.” – Internet Legend Bauce Sauce

“I love Game Boy Colored.” – Barack Obama

“OG Swaggerdick fucked seven of my bitches.” – Kid Rock

One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.” – Drake

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/playlists/43690171″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

More at ogswaggerdick.com.

Photo via @GoodwinWinsgood.

Download: Bel Heir – Envy Mixtape


Today plays like a Bittersweet symphony as Bel Heir conclude a year of monthly single releases with the last of two new tracks “Envy” and “Too Close” that culminate in their Envy Mixtape. Of course, this news coincides with the band’s huge singing to famed RCA Records where they will be working on their debut single and album.

So before they disappear into the depths of recording studios and writing sessions, relish one more time in their pop-induced clutch with new tracks “Envy” and “Too Close For Gold.” While “Envy” bubbles to the surface with an effervescent bounce and save-the-last-dance-sax, “Too Close For Gold” slow dances in a burning room filled with emotional swaying and lighters in the air. Both remain true to the band’s gift of hypnotizing melody and ghostly breaths of lyrics that linger in the air like a mystery waiting to be solved on their debut album.

Listen to “Envy” and “Too Close For Gold” below or download both songs along with previously released tracks “Smoke,” “Out Of Our Heads,” and “Too Cool” for free as the Envy Mixtape below (or over at Noisetrade).

Stream: Boots – WinterSpringSummerFall Debut Mixtape


After much anticipation, the no-longer mysterious Boots unveils his debut mixtape WinterSpringSummerFall. Featuring previously released tracks like the scintillating “Dreams” featuring Queen Bey, new tracks keep the features coming from the likes of Shlohmo, Jeremih and more. Boots 16 tracks of sonic seduction beat boldy with heartbreaking lyrical insight (“I watched my best friend drown/maybe the weight of the world was pulling him down”) and precocious arrangements that melt the ears and excite the mind. It’s the R&B hip-hop hybrid that will satiate an internet audience that is perpetually thirsting for the next big thing.

Listen and download WinterSpringSummerFall below.

1. A Day in the Life of Jordan Asher
2. Dust
3. Howl / Your Move
4. Fade Away
5. Alright
6. No More [ft. Shlohmo & Jeremih]
7. Autumn (Lude I) [ft. Kelela]
8. EST
9. Sheep / Lookin’ Muthafucka (Lude II)
10. Troubled World [ft. Son Lux]
11. Olive Trees and Blue Skies and Hills
12. My Heart Is A Stone Today (Unharmed)
13. Atom
14. Ride By (Lude III) [ft. Margot]
15. Ride Ride Ride
16. Dreams [ft. Beyoncé]